Skip to main content

Byron High School

Byron High School Illinois State Scholars

The Illinois State Scholars is a prestigious award given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.  Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top 10% of high school seniors from the nearly 700 high schools across the state.  Selection is based on formula that considers the student’s ACT as well as class rank at the end of the junior year.

“To be recognized in the top 10% of graduating seniors in the State of Illinois is a tribute to the students’ work ethic, desire to succeed, their teachers, and the support they receive at home.  Many of these students are not only successful in the classroom; they are also leaders in extra-curricular activities they are involved in as well,” Jay Mullens, Byron High School Principal.                           

This year’s recipients from Byron High School are as follows

  • Emma Almy, daughter of David and Kathleen Almy
  • Hannah Bartlett, daughter of John and Laurie Bartlett
  • Rachel Bell, daughter of Lorne and Carrie Bell
  • Abby Boswell, daughter of Ray and Irene Boswell
  • Taylan Cantrell, daughter of Daryl and Daina Basham
  • Alex Carlson, son of Michael and Lori Carlson
  • Jordyn Conard, daughter of Glenn and Lisa Conard
  • Lauren Detig, daughter of Steve and Amy Detig
  • Shayden Harvey, daughter of Shane and Stephanie Harvey
  • Eric Hoshaw, son of David and Michelle Hoshaw
  • Jordan Kilmer, son of Bill and Patti Kilmer
  • Tessa Lambright (not pictured), daughter of Jason Edgar
  • Regan Larson, daughter of Beth Larson and Kurt Larson
  • Megan McCarey, daughter of Brian and Kathy McCarey
  • Britany McCarty, daughter of Mandi Collins and Jamie McCarty
  • John Perket, son of Gary and Lisa Perket
  • Kathleen Rock, daughter of Michael and Margaret Rock
  • Casey Smith, son of Harry and Dori Sullens